CELEBRATE 250 YEARS OF PLYMOUTH HISTORY
Monday, July 4, 2011
10AM – 3 PM
Visit the Old School House next to the Cheese Factory at the Coolidge Historic Site, RT 100A Plymouth, VT
The Plymouth Historical Society is hosting:
- Oral histories from current Plymouth residents on the hour (except noon)
- Displays of historical artifacts, photos, books and documents and videos
Take home a memory of this special occasion with unique souvenirs!
- Made in USA water bottles with the commemorative logo
- SPECIAL Commemorative Cancellation from the Plymouth Post Office!
- Magnets, fans, postcards and more
On July 6, 1761, Gov. Benning Wentworth of New Hampshire granted a charter for the town of Saltash. The name was changed to Plymouth in 1797. During its 250 year history, the town was shaped by weather, disease, floods, topography, mineral mining, and the work ethic of early New England settlers bringing industry and farming to the area. Now fall, winter and summer tourism attracts people from all over the world. Today the community is a cross section of second home owners, retirees, and generational families. The scenic byway, Route 100 and 100A, take the traveler through some of the most beautiful scenery in Vermont, including lakes, forested hillsides and country stores. It is the birth place, boyhood home, Summer White House and burial site of President Calvin Coolidge.
Join visitors, families and friends and learn more about Plymouth’s colorful history. Become a member, make a donation, purchase a small souvenir or simply enjoy the story Plymouth has to tell. Look for the Historical Society banner, American flags and red/white/ blue balloons. We look forward to your visit!! Find us in the Old School House, adjacent to the Cheese Factory.
Plymouth Featured on WCAX
WCAX Burlington featured Plymouth’s 250th Anniversary in May. Click to watch the video.